Torrance County

Resolution Number 2021- _____

A Resolution Designating the Location of Polling Places For the 2021 Local Election and for all Statewide Elections Conducted in 2022 and 2023 and Appointing the Board of Registration Members for the County

WHEREAS, pursuant to the New Mexico Statutes Annotated 1978, Section 1-3-2 (2019) in June or July of 2021 the Board of County Commissioners by resolution shall designate the location of election day polling places in the county for the conduct of any statewide election conducted in calendar years 2022 and 2023; *and*

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that each polling place designated in this resolution complies with the provisions of NMSA 1978, Section 1-3-7 (2019), titled Polling Places; *and*

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that the Voting Convenience Centers created by this resolution will make voting more convenient and accessible to voters of the consolidated precinct, will not result in delays in the voting process, and are centrally located within each consolidated precinct; and further that the Voter Convenience Centers created by this Resolution along with any Early Voting locations which the County Clerk determines to maintain open on Election Day as additional Voter Convenience Centers all meet the requirements of Subsections B and C of NMSA 1978, Section 1-3-4 (2019) and will be available to voters of any precinct in the county to cast a vote at any Election Day Voting Convenience Center; and

WHEREAS, the Board of County Commissioners finds that that each polling place provides individuals with physical mobility limitations unobstructed access to at least one voting machine; *and*

WHEREAS, this Resolution is subject to amendment should there be precinct boundary adjustments once the final results of the 2020 Decennial Census are received by New Mexico from the Census Bureau; *and*

WHEREAS, pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-34 (2019), the Board of County Commissioners shall at its first meeting in June of 2021 appoint the Board of Registration for the County who, pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-37 (2019), shall serve a term from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners designates the election day polling locations for any Statewide Election to be conducted in 2022 and 2023 as follows:

Precinct Numbers

Location & Address

Voter Convenience Centers (VCC):

(All voters in the county may vote at these locations, regardless of where they live.)

1 and 2	ESTANCIA HGH SCHOOL GYM: 709 Hopewell, Estancia, N. M. 87016
3, 4 and 16	TORREON COMMUNITY CENTER: 18 Torreon Heights Rd., Torreon, N. M. 87061
5, 17, 20 and 21	MORIARTY-EDGEWOOD SCHOOLS ADMIN. BLDG.: 2422 US Route 66, Moriarty, N.M. 87035
6, 13, 18, 19 and 22	MORIARTY CIVIC CENTER: 202 Broadway Ave., Moriarty, N.M. 87035
7, 14 and 15	MCINTOSH FIRE STATION: 757 Salt Mission Trail, McIntosh, N.M. 87032
8	WILLARD COMMUNITY CENTER 520 N. Becker Ave., Willard, N.M. 87063
9 and 10	DR. SAUL COMMUINITY CENTER: 111 N. Roosevelt, Mountainair, N.M. 87036
11	ENCINO COMMUNITY CENTER: 527 A North Main Street, Encino, N.M. 88321

12	DURAN FIRE STATION: 19 Vidal St., Duran, N.M. 88319
Absentee/Early Voting	TORRANCE COUNTY ADMIN. OFFICES: 205 9 th ST., Estancia, N. M. 87016
Alternate Early Voting Site	MORIARTY CIVIC CENTER: 202 S. Broadway Ave, Moriarty, N. M. 87035

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners designates the County Board of Registration to serve as the County Canvassing Board for the county for any Statewide or Special Election conducted within the county in calendar years 2022 and 2023.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of County Commissioners hereby appoints the following five voters, who meet the qualifications of Subsection B of NMSA 1978, Section 1-4-34 (2019) to serve as the Board of Registration for the county from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023:

Carolann McNeil Roberta Chavez Shanon Torok (alternate) Mary Theresa Otero (alternate) BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS:

Ryan Schwebach, Chair

Kevin McCall, Member

LeRoy Candelaria, Member

ATTEST: Yvonne Otero, County Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

John M. Butrick, County Attorney

